Gmail unveils ‘unsend’ feature


OREGONLIVE.COM: Gmail hopes to save its users from embarrassment by making it easier to unsend messages.

Share this article!

OREGONLIVE.COM: Gmail hopes to save its users from embarrassment by making it easier to unsend messages.

It turns out Gmail has offered that option for quite some time — you just didn’t know about it. (Watch the video above to see how to set it up.) The business-news website Quartz pointed out that the “unsend” feature has been available for about half a dozen years, but that it “has lived in obscurity in the ‘labs’ section of email service’s settings, a place few everyday users ever venture.” Now Google is moving it out into the open, right there on your can’t-miss-it settings panel.

To be sure, this feature doesn’t actually “unsend” your message. The email won’t disappear from the recipient’s in-box just as that person’s mouse hovers over it. Using Gmail’s “unsend” means your email will be delayed for up to 30 seconds after you hit send. It’s a mind trick you play on yourself, because Google knows nothing will make you save an email to “draft.” You just can’t help but click “send” after you’ve had your say. Now, if you have second thoughts within the allotted time, you can pull it back from what is essentially email purgatory and fix it up as needed.

Read the story here.